Rome If You Want To (Part Something Or The Other…)

I had a post ready and rarin’ to go last night but…I couldn’t post it.

It involved people I don’t really know and, as these things tend to happen, said people had a certain kind of crappy day. (Not that what I was going to post would have been derogatory towards them in any way, shape or form, but I felt it prudent to not add to their headaches. So this leaves me with nothing.)

Aha! Fooled you!

It turns out that I still had some pics left over from our fairly recent trip to Rome, so I might as well dump them onto the intertubes and funnel them all over this crazy rock we call Earth.elephant-pillar.jpg

Say hello to the Elephant Obolisque Obermanshire Obelisk “Elefantino”. (Seriously, say “Hi”… I’m waiting.)

I particularly like this pic for several reasons:

  1. I think it’s a cool shot
  2. My wife hates it because it’s a better shot than she got
  3. The bird shit under the eye looks like a tear

italy-door.jpg
Less homes would be robbed if people had kick-ass ornaments on their front door–especially if the ornaments had motion detectors and smacked the head of anyone trying to break in. (Kind of like a gong. That would be cool.)
italy-road.jpg

This is the roadside where we waited for our “tour bus” after a trip to the catacombs. I won’t bore you with the details except in bullet form:

  • American tourists are stupid (this includes myself)
  • NEVER take a tour
  • If you have to wait 3 hours for a bus on a narrow, incredibly dangerous road, you are obviously a stupid American tourist
  • Catacombs are full of dead people. There is no reason to tour them (it’s not like they’re gonna get up and dance or anything…)

vatican-pillars.jpg

If you ever get the urge to visit the Vatican, here are a few of the pillars that will greet you.

I’m not Catholic but if I was this shit would have been really, really impressive and would have made me ask the obvious question:

“Are you sure it’s easier for a camel to pass through the eye of a needle than for a rich man to enter the kingdom of Heaven? Cuz this looks pretty fucking flash to me…”

rome-ruins.jpg
The construction of these 2,000 year old buildings should say a lot about the strip mall disposable chip board housing everyone seems to favor these days. And by that I mean…umm…don’t really know actually.

pantheon.jpg

There’s lots of spooky Dan Brown shit that goes down here in the Pantheon. I won’t elaborate. But damn…it’s spooooooky!

italy-aquaduct.jpg

And finally…ancient Roman aquaducts.

Amazing.

4 Comments

  1. Love the photos. Especially the one of the Pantheon. Wowza. Well done, you.

  2. Thank you, Jama. I felt bad posting these pics a WHOLE month or so after our visit. I felt really lazy but, dammit! I like these pics!

  3. Awesome photos. And so nice of you to be considerate of someone else’s bad day. Maybe you are an extraordinary American 🙂

  4. I do try, Malinda…I do try. (Sometimes.)


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

