Catholics Do the Art Thing- Catholic Style!

kerry-october-06-061.jpg

Welcome to some nunnery or another somewhere outside of Killarney (sp?) Old churches kind of creep me out and this one was no exception. But I like looking at them. (And I always hope that God doesn’t strike me dead while I take a secular picture of said holy ground. Once again, I got lucky on this one.)

kerry-october-06-006.jpg

This is the first “grotto” that we encountered in Kerry. In my opinion it’s just a very large statue at the side of a road that is full of awesome tourist eye-candy, but I suppose if you’re of the Catholic persuasion it probably means something to you- like you won’t drive off the road and into the sea if you’re groovy with the Madonna babe.

kerry-october-06-020.jpg

Look closely and you will see the Virgin Mary taking a whizz on the quarry workers below. At least, that’s my take on it.
kerry-october-06-134.jpg

Finally! An icon for the rest of us! A pro wrestler!

kerry-october-06-133.jpg

I don’t know who he is but it seems the people of Sneem are very proud of him. I wish him nothing but the best.

But of course, he’s dead.

I hope he had a good run.

God bless him.

3 Comments

  1. I am a greedy bitch. More!

    I will never be able to afford your European vacations so I am living vicariously through you. Can you schedule a visit to Tuscany soon? I’ve always wanted to go there.

  2. The Madonna Babe?

    Could you move to the other side of the room please? I don’t want to get hurt when a bolt of lightening strikes you.

    Um, a little farther….

    (pause)

    That’s good. Right there.

    Thanks

  3. Christina- Tuscany? Sure! Maybe next summer after I come back and visit the fossils (parents) back home in Colorado in the spring. But then again, we’re leaning toward somewhere in Africa… I’ll let you know.

    Nikki- As a lapsed Protestant I have no fear of God being pissed off over a jokey comment about Catholics needing to make statues and whatnot and placing them at the side of the road.

    However, if you’re a Catholic then I also have no problem with you believing I will be struck dead. But I’ll still sit on the other side of the room– just in case.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

