Sell Your Soul to the Shopping Mall

The last couple of days have been a real Karmic bitch.

Something quite good happened (we finally signed on the flat and the closing date is fast approaching) and lots of bad, personal-I’m-not-going-to-go-into-it type stuff has happened as well. It has all left me feeling incredibly burned out, exhausted and exhilarated at the same time.

Let’s just call it life, shall we?

Anyway, if I were to single out the strangest day this week it would have to be Thursday. At 9 a.m. that morning we essentially bought the flat and by 12 o’clock I was writing a press release for Chico and (I can’t even believe I’m writing these words) the Cheeky Girls who are making a special guest appearance at a mall at some god forsaken place or the other some time next week.

I still can’t decide if it was one of the best days of my life or one of the stupidest.

By no means do I consider myself an “artist” or even a “real writer” (though I do get paid to write stuff…oh, well…whatever) but it was the first time in this job that I stopped and said to myself, “YOU sir, are a hack!” (Little did I know that by Friday I would be writing and producing a radio ad starring talking feet. You just can’t prepare for shit like this.)

If I had any dignity and/or artistic integrity I would have said, “Fuck this! I’m out of here!”

And if I believed 100% in a soul, I’d have to say I sold it to a shopping mall.

But it’s paying for our new flat.

I guess this is what it means to be a grown-up.

4 Comments

  1. Congrats on the Flat buddy, and yes, being an adult sucks big time. Have a grand Sunday WOA…

  2. Congrats! And yes, being an adult is a total drag sometimes. Try selling dog food for a living. It’s a soul sucker.

  3. Thanks for the encouragement. I’m now off to put on my slippers and pour myself a mug of warm milk.

  4. Thanks for stopping by the podcast.

    No, I agree it is no Letter To America. You have set the bar high, and we can only hope to be half as good as yours.

    Of course, if you ever want to cross promote some podcasts, I’d be happy to.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

