January Blues

big-head.jpg

I can’t write.

I won’t bore you with details of how I know because:

1. Details are boring.

2. I spend most every day of my working life being bored out of my fucking mind so why would I want to do it on my free time? (Actually, I’m writing this at work. (Gotta have a page with actual words on it in case someone sneaks up behind me and sees me surfing the Job Finder. (Also, I intend to play Nintendo when I get home tonight and blogging digs into my already too precious spare time. Two birds with one stone!)))

But the fact remains—I can’t string two words together.

It’s blue…I mean true.

I guess.

I mean, I’ve been told by any number of people at work (well, one person anyway) who outweigh me by a hearty 200 pounds and, apparently, Weight makes Great, that I’m useless so who am I to argue with my slim and stealthy 180 pound frame (If you’re thin you can’t win!)?

It’s a shame that I feel so healthy and vibrant all the time and that I fit into my clothes without them being specially made. It really is. And I feel really bad when stories of this certain loudmouth circulate around the studio about them recently getting stuck in a chair at a restaurant.

If you personally knew who (whom? (See, I can’t do anything wright…RIGHT)) I’m talking about you would most likely be in tears by now wishing you had been there to help him (or her) out of his (or her) chair by tipping him (or her) over and prodding him (ok, it’s a ‘him’) with a dinner fork wired to a car battery. I know I certainly feel that way.

To me, this battle simply isn’t worth fighting. I’m not going to get in a pissing fight. I took the job because it was the first thing offered to me. I knew what I was getting into and I know when it’s time to get out.

What I don’t know is what I want to be when I grow up but I sure don’t want to look like the guy up there.

Shit. Too late.

5 Comments

  1. Oh God or Whatever! Dude, you just took a few years off of my life, with that freaky picture. 🙂 I’ve got a phrase for ya:

    “Write it, damn you, write it! What else are you good for?

    James Joyce

  2. I’m glad you’re feeling better….you just don’t look any better. At least not from that picture.

    dude.

  3. I LOVE that pic!!! I’m glad you’re feeling better.
    Hey!!! Irish Blogs Award season is upon us, Aren’t you going to post the URL for nominatins like this one… http://awards.ie/nominations/index.php ?
    Aren’t you going to beg for votes from your loyal readers?
    Aren’t you going to get a hotel room and make the journey to beautiful downtown Dublin, with Jett in tow, to pick up your award!?!
    Did you say BEST PERSONAL BLOG ? Well OK I’ll have to cast my vote for you in THAT catagory.
    ps. Where’s Ceiling Cat ? Didn’t he move with you?

  4. Now that I have ‘extra help’ at work I have time to play around with the new iMacs with built in cameras that everyone (except me) got this week. Unfortunately, this is what I really look like.

    Brianf, yeah I’ll whore myself out and beg for votes and post the URL for the awards…probably this weekend. Thanks for reminding me. (I don’t know where Ceiling Cat is…I’m sure he’ll turn up somewhere….)

  5. How dare you say blogging is a waste of time (“blogging digs into my already too precious spare time.”)


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

