Dogging

This past Saturday my wife and I went to the Antrim Animal Sanctuary.

God, was it horrible.

Within minutes, Ruth was in tears and I found myself choking back serious emotions. It was the saddest thing I think I’ve seen in all my life. (Dogs behind bars. Barking. Being all sad and shit. Ouch.)

As a farm boy, I had so many dogs (most run over by my mom- through no fault of her own. Darwin answered many questions as to why Skippy got run over (he was stupid)) that I’m used to being semi-sort-of-kind-of-you-did-what? detached from why, when, where, howsat? from the natural selection type of world we all live in. (Did any of this make sense? No? Well, you apparently didn’t grow up in the middle of Nowhere, Colorado. That’s your tough luck.)

But then we came to the understanding that the Antrim Animal Sanctuary DOESN’T put dogs down. Volunteers come and walk the dogs, give them food and show them love. And that…well, that made me want to cry even more.

This is a FANTASTIC charity.

Anyway, we went to the Animal Sactuary and saw the cutest little bastard (well, since dogs don’t get married, I’m assuming the tag is true) you’ve ever seen.

Part Jack Russel, part Collie, he’s 100% smarts and probably 100% trouble.

But that’s OK.

Because, as of Friday, he’s ours.

Please everybody… support your local animal shelter. These animals did nothing wrong and don’t deserve to be punished.

We had to go through a screening process–which is more that your average slutty whore 14 year old trailer trash bitch has to go through (Britney Spears, I’m looking your way…).

This poses many questions but I don’t have the time to answer them.

Wish us luck.

And let’s all hope that Sparky takes to our humble little home.

Here, Sparky! Here!

13 Comments

  1. I adopted a cat once. He was about 5 yrs old. He had a hard time adjusting to life outside in the “real world”, and would spend his days crapping all over my house (and I mean ALL OVER). It was really bad.

    After a few days of this, I resigned myself to do the unthinkable and return the cat. I felt like the biggest bastard on the face of the earth, and the adoption folks made no bones about their feelings towards me either.

    When we got to their shelter, the cat was so excited he jumped out of my arms and immediately began playing with his old mates (this was also a shelter that did not euthanize, otherwise there’s no way I could have done it). I got the feeling he was relieved to be back “home”.

  2. I really don’t need to hear stories like this right now. But, yes, it is a comfort to know that we can take Sparky back if he’s too much of a pain. Luckily, we have a week’s ‘trial period’ to see if it all works out. I really want it to work out. He’s REALLY cute and friendly.
    And he’s cute.
    And friendly.

  3. A new and shiney puppy dog like doggie dog!
    Cool beans! Good for you!
    And all the rest of the happy happy kinda’ stuff….
    I want to get another muttley mutt but I’m going to wait until springtime.
    I hope your new barkey bark is cute and friendly ( I heard a rumor he is)

  4. Feed Science Diet for all your dog nutrition needs. There’s my commerical. I am very, very happy for you and I hope all goes well!

  5. So now everybody knows Wayne’s soft spot.

    I’m a bit embarrassed by this post but at this junction of my life I need to take myself out of myself and start doing good things.

    Sugarsnapixie- Science Diet it is.

  6. Congrats Wayne and Ruth. πŸ™‚

  7. That’s great!

    I’m all about saving an animal….would you like to save another? My husband is looking for a different place to stay besides the dog house.

  8. Did I read this correctly?
    “Part Jack Russel, part Collie”
    Now as far as i know a Jack Russell is about 7 lbs. and a Collie is about 65 lbs.
    So my question is…….
    Who was the piitcher and who was the catcher?

    ps. a friend of mine has a Jack Russell Terrier ans she calls it….
    “The Jackasauris”
    …….part dog and part dinosaur

  9. I love animals, I DO! I rescued our Border Collie named Reno, (that was already her name even though I live there), and I rescued my Persian cat Poofy. I love both my animals.

    But, I did grow up in BFE Texas, and I never understood how my parents thought a $.50 bullet was easier than taking one in… but NO ONE can own them ALL…

    Good luck with your new family member, I hope your dog is less neurotic than mine πŸ™‚

  10. D-day (Dog Day) is tomorrow. I too grew up in the middle of BFE (only the Colorado version). We never had to worry about putting a dog down- mom did a pretty good job on her own with the station wagon.

    Brianf- by collie I mean border collie not Lassie Collie (probably shoulda made that a bit more clear). He’s tiny- about the size a Jack Russel should be. Hopefully there will be pics tomorrow night.

  11. Excellent. I adopted Bastardface from the pound. He was only a wee pup. He won’t get much bigger they said. Paws like farmers hands should have given it away.

  12. Do you think they’d take a cat from Offaly? There’s a really cute little fella that roams around our estate, but I’ve seen people torment him and I’m worried about him in the cold. He seemed like a housecat when he first showed up but he’s getting more feral by the day! Have wanted to bring him to a shelter but would never be able to live with myself if he was euthanized. Good to know some places don’t condone this! Thanks for the post! Good luck with the pup!

  13. Yes, Deborah… they take cats. And they’re really nice people. Give them a call. (And they don’t put any animal down unless they really, really have to.)


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

