I’ve Done Worse For Less

Let’s just get this out there because time is running out.

I’m not vain.

I’m not a glory hound.

I’m a (quickly) balding, misplaced American who found himself in the land of 40 shades of green.

I’m neurotic and because we’ve recently rescued a dog my hands smell like dog piss and the pockets of my coat smell of dog treats. (The snacks ain’t bad. I tried one last night. It could use a little salt. (Oh, come on! You ate a can of cat food in college, like I did. Don’t deny it. I know you did! I’m not the only one, right? RIGHT?))

Most of all I don’t like to enter competitions because I really, really, REALLY hate to lose.

But this is different.

As you may or may not know The Irish Blog Awards are just around the corner but the time to cast your vote is right in front of your face.

As in Friday.

This Friday.

The 15th of February. Sorry, had to re-check that… The 16th of February.

Vote for me, OK? I can’t justify voting for myself (I told you, I’m not vain) but if I don’t make the short list and Jett from Letter to America doesn’t make the short list then there’s no reason to drive to Dublin to make another podcast on the blog awards.

So, please. Think of the children and vote “Wayne” early and often.

Transmission complete.

8 Comments

  1. I don’t normally enter competitions either – but sometimes it works out

    I think Jett has already said he’s going whether he gets shortlisted or not. But of course he will. And you may too.

  2. Well I voted for ya’ and I voted for LTA too.
    Write your acceptance speech and post it here so we can all critique it.
    Good idea huh?

  3. What do you mean you can’t vote for yourself??

    Your like the dude in the movie “Election” who thinks it’s wrong to vote himself for President and loses by one vote.

  4. Phil- wasn’t that an episode of The Simpsons?

  5. Yeah – that too. None of Bart’s friends voted and Martin won 2-0.

  6. Hey Wayne,
    TAG !! You’re it!!
    Go read my blog and follow all the rules

  7. You got my vote.

  8. I found you in two categories, and I VOTED…

    Good luck, I hope you win!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

