Yes. Yes I Can

Today I will enlighten the masses (all 3 of you) what it’s like to be a copywriter.

(All 3 of you have now clicked, out of boredom, away. I can live with that.)

In my past life, as a copywriter for Ad Bore, (not to be confused with my new life as SENIOR COPYWRITER for the GREATEST AND BIGGEST AD AGENCY IN NORTHERN IRELAND) I was never encouraged, pushed, or tempted to write anything that might be construed as “good”.

Not that I didn’t want to.

I just wasn’t given the liberty to be creative for whatever reason (they’re assholes is a prime suspect, tho).

Mainly because the Creative Dictator was a fucktard and the “boss” was too fucking stupid to know good copy from the foaming shit letters that babbled from his keyboard (how that fat fucker could type with the fat size of his fat fucking fingers baffles me. I think he used a pointy-stick a la Homer Simpson (yes, FATBOY, I truly HATE you. Live with it. Fatboy.) (Yes, I said FATBOY. FATBOY!)))

Anyway, I now work happily and harder than ever for an agency that knows what’s what.

I’ve been part of 2 presentations in the last 5 weeks (2 more than I ever did at Ad Bore) which went over REALLY well, worked for major, major, MAJOR clients (like the UK’s biggest phone company, world famous whiskey and vodka companies, etc), and been complimented for my work, not cuz I was fishin’ for compliments but because they genuinely think I know what I’m doing (I don’t. But don’t tell them that.)

My point?

I haven’t posted regularly because…

Because…

Fuck.

I’m happy. So very, very happy.

However, I’ve got some ideas and if I ever get some down time at work and feel “hilarious” I’ll update (the people at my new job don’t care what you do as long as you get your work done. Hell, last week I spent two whole days walking around a park and sitting in pubs. And I got PAID for it!) .

It’s weird having creative energy fueled by a new outlook on life. It’s just a little harder to harness it because there’s so much in life I need to catch up on.

Sad that I’ve spent the last 2 1/2 years blogging because it was an outlet for disappointment, anger, rage, depression and fear.

Let’s never speak of it again.

2 Comments

  1. Och, Wayne I’m so pleased for you. Sounds like the good life! I have a great work-related, insane and nasty boss story to tell but I’m afraid even if I change the names it might still get me in trouble…I’m thinking of writing a it as a screenplay instead and calling it fiction…

  2. Thanks healy (if that is your real name). You know my pain and I yours. We’re like bonded or something 😉

    Hopefully, you’re in a happy place now.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a comment